top of page
Search
  • sophiebrackett42

Artist's Statement

My painting is an homage to the Norwegian painter, Edvard Munch, specifically his most known work, The Scream. I chose to do an art piece inspired by Munch’s Scream because I believe that Munch is an artist that is the epitome of this year’s Integrative Project theme, Creativity in Crisis. Munch was very much an artist in crisis and had his own lot of struggles including alcohol induced psychosis, which landed him in a sanitorium. Munch is a good example of an artist who used art to depict his struggle with mental health. I, myself, have my own battles with anxiety, which is why I decided to put myself in the scream. I also wanted to emphasize the theme of anxiety by adding words that relate to the experience of anxiety such as uncertainty, fear, doubt, resentment, loathing and isolation. These words are embedded in different parts of the painting. I think having the anxiety theme adds to the sense of crisis within the painting. My oil painting, along with Munch’s’ painting, contains a lot of line work, which gives the painting a unique texture. My painting also contains a lot of prime colors which makes the colours really stand out, this is another painting technique that Munch uses. As an artist, it was a very valuable experience learning from another artists’ work and I learned a lot from this project.









4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page