top of page
Search
  • sophiebrackett42

Proposal

When I happened upon “The Scream” by Edvard Munch it struck me that it could be a possibility to use his art and his style as an inspiration for my “Creativity in Crisis” project. Edvard Munch is a Symbolist meaning he used art to reflect emotions and feelings rather than reality, like he did in “The Scream” and many of his other artworks. One could also say that Munch was an artist in crisis since he struggled with alcoholism, anxiety and other mental health concerns and was a hermit, he was even in a private sanitorium for a short period of time in his life. The integrative project this year is largely, in my personal opinion, symbolic since the task is to present crisis through creativity making Edvard Munch the perfect muse for this project. I have so far come up with a few ideas on how to fuse my art with Munch’s, which I have explored through some creative research in my sketchbook.

Work in Progress




10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Artist's Statement

My painting is an homage to the Norwegian painter, Edvard Munch, specifically his most known work, The Scream. I chose to do an art piece inspired by Munch’s Scream because I believe that Munch is an

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page